Find Us on Facebook

Materials Management Subcommittee

The mission of the Materials Management Subcommittee is to enhance and promote the development of effective State and Territorial materials management programs that incorporate product stewardship, source reduction, beneficial use, recycling, conversion technology and land disposal.

Subcommittee members' contact information is provided as a resource for other State and federal waste and materials managers. Please direct all press inquiries to Executive Director Dania Rodriguez.


Mark de Bie (CA)
Subcommittee Chair

Kerry Callahan Senior Staff Associate for Hazardous Waste Subcommittee and Materials Management Subcommittee


»Materials Management Subcommittee Publications
»View recorded Materials Management meeting sessions


Municipal D Waste Task Force

The goal of the Municipal D Waste TF is to assist State and Territorial solid waste management programs by: 1) providing program development information and support for State and Territorial waste program managers and staff and 2) providing input to EPA and other interested parties on their proposed priorities and initiatives for municipal solid waste landfill programs.

Charles Johnson (CO) Chair

Training and Technology Transfer Task Force

The mission of the Training and Technology Transfer (T3) TF is to promote, develop, and examine training opportunities that best meet the needs of the Association's members relating to all aspects of non-hazardous solid waste management through identification of areas of interest, evaluating training options, and coordinating conferences.

Pam Allen (OH) Chair

Beneficial Use Task Force

The mission of the Beneficial Use TF is to identify and inform States of information, successful practices and procedures which can be used to make beneficial use determinations (BUDs) that are protective of human health and the environment. To transfer the best available technical and administrative information to States developing or improving beneficial use work in solid waste and waste minimization programs.

Bob Blankenburg (AK) Chair

MSW Recycling Task Force

The mission of the ASTSWMO Municipal Solid Waste Recycling Task Force is to provide leadership and promote actions that reduce waste, conserve resources, prevent pollution, and foster sustainability through identifying recycling opportunities and partnerships and through the development and implementation of educational programs about recycling. 

Marshalle Graham (CA) Chair

Product Stewardship Task Force
»Product Stewardship Framework Policy Document

Garth Hickle (MN) Chair


Home | Contact Us | Search | Site Map
Thank you for visiting our website. Please come again soon.


ASTSWMO's mission is to enhance and promote effective State and Territorial programs for waste and materials management, to encourage environmentally sustainable practices and to affect relevant national waste and materials management policies.